URBANCE

Something crazy cool just received enough funding to be produced, and I think a lot of you guys, especially illustrators and animators, will find it to be just as exciting as I do!

URBANCE is a post-modern, hip-hop and electronic-inspired animated series for audiences 16+. It takes topics that are somewhat taboo—sex, gangs, street violence—and brings up real, raw issues to tell a story of forbidden love:

“In a post-modern city torn by street violence, sex is prohibited because of a deadly genetical virus infecting the entire population. Men and women have grown apart, hating each other until two young rebels, disowned by their own gangs, are leading the fight to live their love freely.”

A mixture of French and Japanese styles of work, URBANCE’s pop-like artwork captured me the moment I saw a blog post about it. It reminds me of Jet Set Radio (which is said to be one of their inspirations) in attitude, and I’m really into the way they’ve overwhelmed it with culture and rebellion.

4f0647157fe23e9b0c23e690e746ccd3_largea329dd83840c6208df77bab884b1e22f_large

Recently, thanks to a campaign on Kickstarter.com, the creators were able to fund enough to create a pilot episode. You can still continue to fund it through paypal, however, to help make it possible to push the production further!

What do you think? Will URBANCE’s components create controversy? Do you like that it could?

Posted by Mary Rose Fiondella

One thought on “URBANCE

  1. I am SO excited to watch this show. I’ve been anticipating it for awhile now. I do believe if it gets enough popularity it will definitely create some controversies. Honestly I hope it does gain enough recognition to do so, because it is going to bring up alot of real world issues that need to be discussed. I also think the plot of sex being banned is interesting and reminds me of the book Brave New World. I really want people everywhere to watch this not just because of its content, but also its absolutely gorgeous animation and style. Everyone should go watch this and fund it now!

    Alison Cousens

Leave a Reply

